Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®

South Central Region

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated®

South Central Region

In 1924, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority’s leadership designated members of various local areas as “Organizers”, to further expand the Sorority beyond its, then, 32 chapters.  During the same years the chapters were organized into regions formed according to geography and population density.  Historically aligned with these distinguished Sorority events are the spectacular formation of the first chapter of the South Central Region.  Phi Chapter located in Marshall, Texas on the campus of Wiley College was chartered in November 1924.  Specifically, it was established with both graduate and undergraduate members and was the first chapter chartered west of the Mississippi River.  Clara Dugan, a member of Phi Chapter during the late 1920’s was the first Regional Director, then known as Southern Deputy of the South Central Region.

The oldest graduate chapter of the “Sensational” South Central Region is Alpha Beta Omega in New Orleans, Louisiana.  The chapter was chartered on July 23, 1927 and was the home chapter of the ninth International President, Margaret Davis.  The ambitious and illustrious ladies of this chapter were pioneers who paved the way for the future of the South Central Region.

As the number of graduate and undergraduate chapters grew in tandem with service and sisterliness in the region, the vision of the Founders was manifested.  The excitement and accomplishments of its members escalated to notable status under the leadership of its umbrella organization.  Consequently, South Central Region is proud of its significant position in the history books of Alpha Kappa Alpha with two legends: Dr. Mattelia B. Grays, 18th International President, Dr. Faye B. Bryant, 21st International President and Danette Anthony Reed, our current International President.

Focused on upholding the vision set by the sorority’s founders, the Region hosted the first Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated International Convention in the Southwest and has served as host to a total of seven others.  South Central is recognized for its breakthrough as a predominately African American group in the drive for equal accommodations in a Southern city as it hosted the first International Convention with a commitment of space in a major chain hotel.  Another historic accent to the rich regional heritage is that it served as the geographical site for the first 75-year member celebration, Loraine R. Green, the 2nd International President.

Since the inception of the South Central Region members have worked faithfully to prepare a legacy for the future by blazing new trails and reaching new heights through the implementation of new programs that center on significant issues in families, communities, government halls and world assembly chambers.  Accolades for such is credited to our former Regional Directors: Clara Dugan, Lois Davis Tyrus, M. Viola Butler Taylor, Olivetta Jones Morgan, Connie Y. Conner, Zephie C. Brooks, Olive Durden Brown, Eugene B. Long, Odalie S. McDonald, V. Besselle Atwell, Mattelia B. Grays, Faye B. Bryant, Mary L. Williams, Deralyn Riles Davis, Dorothy S. Johnson, Mamie L. McKnight, Jewel M. Thomas, Jacqueline Dansby, Carmelita C. Smith, Polly Sparks Turner, Shirley R. Fisher, Tari T. Bradford, Gwendolyn J. Brinkley, Chelle L. Wilson, and Katina Semien Smothers. The South Central Region is proud to be the 2nd largest region out of the ten regions of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®.  The region is composed of more than 15,000 service-oriented members with more than 130 undergraduate and graduate chapters located in the four-state region of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico and Texas.

Simply put, South Central continues to make a difference by “Soaring to Greater Heights of Service and Sisterhood”.