Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®

South Atlantic Region

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated®

South Atlantic Region

A. Cathryn Johnson*

1st Regional Director (Atlanta, Ga.)


Georgia Schanck*

2nd Regional Director (Orlando, Fla.)


Became an Ivy Beyond the Wall while serving her term.

Mayme Williams*

3rd Regional Director (Miami, Fla.)


Appointed by Marjorie Parker, International President, to serve as Regional Director

Sujette F. Crank*

4th Regional Director (Atlanta, Ga.)


Was appointed to complete the role and was later elected by the region.

Odessa S. Nelson*

5th Regional Director (Columbia, S.C.)


The first African American woman to receive a master of science in zoology from the University of Pittsburgh.

Margaret Blake Roach*

6th Regional Director (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

1968 – 1970

Characterized by many as a “living legend,” she brought recognition to Alpha Kappa Alpha through her work with the Mississippi Health Project.

Homie Regulus*

7th Regional Director (Fort Valley, Ga.)


As a college librarian, she led the committee to preserve Alpha Kappa Alpha’s history, resulting in the sorority’s archival collections being housed at the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center at Howard University.

Norma Solomon White

8th Regional Director (Jacksonville, Fla.)


Under her administration as 25th International President, the sorority built and dedicated 10 schools in South Africa. She was the first female member of the “FAMU Marching 100” band and the first woman to direct the band.

Delores Ham Oliver*

9th Regional Director (Spartanburg, S.C.)


Maintained a no-nonsense approach to the implementation of Alpha Kappa Alpha’s policies and procedures. For her, knowledge and respect for the sisterhood were paramount.

Mary Shy Scott*

10th Regional Director (Atlanta, Ga.)


As 23rd International President, she completed the building and financing of the third-story addition to the national office.

Frederica Wilson

11th Regional Director (Miami, Fla.)


Former member of the Florida Senate and currently a member of the United States House of Representatives. She organized a role-model program for black boys.

Vertelle Middleton

12th Regional Director (Charleston, S.C.)


She encouraged the undergraduate members to become Leadership Fellows.

Lucretia Payton Stewart

13th Regional Director (Decatur, Ga.)


As a former International Parliamentarian, she brought high acclaim to the region with national recognition of the Partners in Math and Science (PIMS) program.

Sonja Williams Garcia

14th Regional Director (Tampa, Fla.)


Established the Stella Lett Undergraduate Leadership Institute and the Stella Lett Scholarship.

Irene Westbrooks McCollom*

15th Regional Director (Orangeburg, S.C.)


Led the region through a national moratorium on undergraduate membership and return of initiation for the collegian.

Ella Springs Jones

Centennial Regional Director (Augusta, Ga.)


First member in Alpha Kappa Alpha’s history to contend for the office of Regional Director unopposed. She established the South Atlantic Endowment Scholarship and served as Regional Director during the Centennial Celebration of the Sorority.

Marsha Lewis Brown

17th Regional Director (Tampa, Fla.)


Delivered by mobilizing, leading and building the region to more than 10,000 members. She was the first regional director to have an endowed scholarship funded in her name at her undergraduate alma mater, Florida State University.

Sharon Brown Harriott

18th Regional Director (Columbia, S.C.)


During her administration as the 18th South Atlantic Regional Director, Sharon Brown Harriott presided over three of the largest regional conferences in Alpha Kappa Alpha’s history. Additionally, 10 chapters were chartered during her administration and the South Atlantic Region became the first region to raise $1 million for the Alpha Kappa Alpha Educational Advancement Foundation (EAF) during a four-year period.

Carolyn Gause Randolph

19th Regional Director (Columbus, Ga.)


The 19th Regional Director’s endowment was capitalized within 17 days of her installation. Under her leadership, South Atlantic became the only region where all eight clusters capitalized their endowments. Also, the region gave the highest amount in HBCU Impact Day donations, totaling over $1.1 million in four years. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the region held monthly Power of Prayer gatherings and the first virtual regional conference.  The first interest group and general member coordinators were appointed; the first regional leadership institute was held; a regional authors’ showcase, and directory were featured; and nine chapters, eight graduate and one undergraduate, were chartered. Was elected Supreme Grammateus at 2022 Boule.