Former Regional Directors

*Denotes Ivy Beyond The Wall

A. Cathryn Johnson (Atlanta, GA)

1st Regional Director


Georgia Schanck

2nd Regional Director (Orlando, FL)

1958 - 1959

Becomes an Ivy Beyond the Wall while serving her term

Mayme Williams

3rd Regional Director (Miami, FL)


Appointed by Marjorie Parker, International President, to serve as Regional Director

Sujette F. Crank

4th Regional Director (Atlanta, GA)

1959 - 1964

Later appointed to complete the unexpired term of Georgia Schank

Odessa S. Nelson

5th Regional Director (Columbia, SC)

1964 - 1968

The first African American woman to receive a master of science in zoology from the University of Pittsburgh

Margaret Blake Roach*

6th Regional Director (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)

1968 - 1970

Characterized by many as a “living legend.” She brought recognition to Alpha Kappa Alpha through her work with the Mississippi Health Project

Homie Regulus*

7th Regional Director (Ft. Valley, GA)

1970 - 1974

College Librarian; she led the committee to preserve Alpha Kappa Alpha history’s, resulting in the sorority’s archival collections being housed at the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center at Howard University

Norma Solomon White

8th Regional Director (Jacksonville, FL)

1974 - 1978

25th International President Build and dedicated 10 schools in South Africa. The first female member of the “FAMU Marching 100” band; and, the first female to direct the band.

Delores Ham Oliver*

9th Regional Director (Spartanburg, SC)

1978 - 1982

Maintained a no nonsense approach to implementation of Alpha Kappa Alpha’s policies and procedures. Knowledge and respect for the sisterhood are paramount.

Mary Shy Scott*

10th Regional Director (Atlanta, GA)

1982 - 1986

23rd International President As International President, she completed the building and financing of the 3rd story addition to the national office.

Frederica Wilson

11th Regional Director (Miami, FL)

1986 - 1990

Former member of the Florida Senate and currently a member of the United States House of Representatives. She organized a role model program for black males.

Vertelle Middleton

12th Regional Director (Charleston, SC)

1990 - 1994

She encouraged the undergraduate members to become Leadership Fellows

Lucretia Payton Stewart

13th Regional Director (Decatur, GA)

1994 - 1998

Former International Parliamentarian Brought high acclaim to the region with national recognition of PIMS (partners in Math and Science) program.

Sonja Williams Garcia

14th Regional Director (Tampa, FL)

1998 - 2002

Established the Stella Lett Undergraduate Leadership Institute and the Stella Lett Scholarship.

Irene Westbrooks McCollom

15th Regional Director (Orangeburg, SC)

2002 - 2006

Led the region through a national moratorium on undergraduate membership and return of initiation for the collegian.

Ella Springs Jones

Centennial Regional Director (Augusta, GA)

2006 - 2010

First soror in Alpha Kappa Alpha’s history to contend for the office of Regional Director unopposed. Established the South Atlantic Endowment Scholarship and served as Regional Director during the Centennial Celebration of the Sorority

Marsha Lewis Brown

17th Regional Director (Tampa, FL)


Delivered by mobilizing, leading and building the region to more than 10,000 members. She was the first regional director to have an endowed scholarship funded in her name at her undergraduate alma mater, Florida State University.

Sharon Brown Harriott

18th Regional Director (Columbia, SC)


During the administration of 18th South Regional Director Sharon Brown Harriott three of the largest regional conferences in Alpha Kappa Alpha's history with over 5000 conference attendees were hosted. Additionally, ten (10) chapters were chartered and the South Atlantic Region became the first region to raise One Million dollars for EAF during a four-year period.