SAR History


The original South Atlantic Region was composed of Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. Constitutional amendment for separation from the South Eastern Region into a new South Atlantic Region was voted at the 1953 Boule´ in St. Louis, Missouri. The South Eastern Region at the time of the realignment, because of size, was composed on Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, and Florida. Regional Directors, who have served, at onetime or the other with this area have been: Maude Brown Porter, Carolyn Blanton, C. Russell Harris, Portia Trenholm, Collye L. Riley, Arnetta G. Wallace, Mayme E. Williams, and A. Cathryn Johnson (listed in order).

A. Cathryn Johnson, then of Atlanta, Georgia, became the new South Atlantic Regional Director. She had been elected South Eastern director when it was voted the region was too large. Lois Daniels of Nashville, Tennessee, was appointed to lead the South Eastern region.

The First Report:

The first South Atlantic Regional report to the Boule´ was made at Nashville, Tennessee, December 1954 by Johnson.

She reported the following: “The new Undergraduate Cup was named ‘The Mayme E. Williams Cup’” for the former South Eastern Regional Director.

The cup was awarded to Gamma Tau Chapter, Bethune Cookman College, Daytona Beach, Florida. The Graduate Cup was named ‘The Marie Woolfolk Taylor Cup’ for the founder. The cup was awarded to Delta Omicron Omega Chapter, Orlando, Florida.” (Minutes 1954 Boule´). Directors who succeeded Johnson have been Georgia Schanck appointed to complete her term. She was elected in 1958 and became an Ivy Beyond the Wall, April 29, 1959, while serving her term. International President, Marjorie H. Parker, requested Mayme E. Williams to serve in a brief holding position, until the appointment of Sujette F. Crank as the Regional Director. Crank was later elected by the region.

International Leaders from the South Atlantic Region: The South Atlantic Region is home to three former International Presidents, Mary Shy Scott, 23rd International President of Atlanta, GA (1990 - 1994), and Norma Solomon White, 25th International President of Jacksonville, FL (1998-2002). Another beacon of the South Atlantic Region the 28th International President of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and Carolyn House Stewar of Tampa, FL (2010-2014). The South Atlantic Region is fortunate to birth such great visionaries of leadership.